Michigan Municipalities Opted-in to MMFLA


Michigan Municipalities Opted-in to MMFLA

Municipal Approval

Growers, Processors, Secure Transporters, Safety Compliance Centers, and Provisioning Centers can only be located in municipalities that “opt-in” and enact an ordinance permitting and regulating these facilities. While the state is not accepting applications until December 15, 2017, municipalities can accept applications for land use permits at any time, as long as the municipality has enacted an ordinance allowing the facility.

A municipality (a city, township, or village) may enact an ordinance to authorize one or more types of marihuana facilities, and limit the number of each type of facility; charge an annual local fee up to $5,000 on licensees, and enact other ordinances related to marihuana facilities such as zoning ordinances. However, regulations regarding the purity or pricing of marihuana or regulations interfering or conflicting with state statutory regulations for licensing marihuana facilities could not be imposed. Many municipalities are considering whether to opt in and have drafted ordinances. So far, those that have enacted an opt-in ordinance, or that have officially expressed an intent to do so, are:

Barry County

Crawford County

Grand Traverse County

Gratiot County

Ionia County

Isabella County

Houghton County

Kalkaska County

Lapeer County

Manistee County

Midland County

Monroe County

Newaygo County

Ontonagon County

Osceola County

Ottawa County

Schoolcraft County

Shiawassee County

St. Joseph County